About the AAOF Awards Program

The AAOF has defined seven Award Program priority areas:

  • Biomedical Research Awards
  • Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Awards
  • Center Awards
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship Award
  • Educational Innovation Awards
  • Program Awards
  • Research Aid Awards

The funds necessary for these awards are the result of the Foundation's endowment fundraising campaign, Continued Commitment to the Specialty®.

View the committee's policies regarding Confidentiality of Information and Conflicts of Interest HERE.

2023 Awards Program

The deadline for the 2023 Award Proposals is October 28, 2022 by 5:00 pm CST.
Application Materials for the annual AAOF Awards, as well as the Accelerated Funding of Proposals (AFP) and COVID-19 specific Awards are now available on the new online platform (click button below to apply).

The Call for Proposals on the three following topics can be submitted through the Accelerated Funding Program immediately rather than through the normal funding process. This on-going funding was made available to address urgent needs for research funding. The applications can be submitted any time under the Center Award, Biomedical Research Award, Postdoctoral Fellowship Award, Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Award, and Research Aid Award categories. Please note on your application, in the title of your proposal if you are applying through the Accelerated Funding Program.

Impending Issues in Orthodontics
Business of Orthodontic Practice

For guidance on completing the 2023 application process, please view the AAOF Awards Application Workshop PowerPoint presentation HERE or watch the live Virtual Workshop/Zoom Meeting, presented live on 6/24/22 HERE.
All applications must be submitted through our online process.


2022 Awards Program

Summary of 2022 Awards Program Recommendations

  • Seven (7) Biomedical Research Awards
  • Seven (7) Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Awards
  • Twelve (12) Research Aid Awards


Biomedical Research Award (BRA)

  • Iacopo Cioffi, University of Toronto – B.F. Dewel Memorial Biomedical Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Hyeran Helen Jeon, University of Pennsylvania – Graber Family Biomedical Research and Teaching Award (Synopsis)
  • Yan Jing, Texas A&M College of Dentistry – Burstone-Indiana Biomechanics Award (Synopsis)
  • Toru Deguchi, The Ohio State University - Fred F. Schudy Memorial Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Eliane Dutra, University of Connecticut Health Center - Robert L. Boyd Biomedical Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Christine Hong, University of California, San Francisco - Robert James Bray Biomedical Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Amy Tasca, University of Minnesota – The Fred and Dianne Garrett Biomedical Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Bingshuang Zoe, The University of British Columbia - AAOF Board of Directors Award (Synopsis)


Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Awards (OFDFA)

  • Ginny Ching Yun Hsu, Oregon Health & Science University – Willie and Earl Shepard Fellowship Award (Synopsis)
  • Jonas Bianchi, University of the Pacific – Graber Family Teaching and Research Award (Synopsis)
  • Shivam Mehta, Marquette University School of Dentistry – James L. Vaden Teaching Fellowship Award (Synopsis)
  • Maysaa Oubaidin, University of Illinois, Chicago – Orhan C. Tuncay Teaching Fellowship Award (Synopsis)
  • Po-Jung Chen, University of Connecticut Health Center – T. M. Graber Teaching Fellowship Award (Synopsis)
  • Ildeu Andrade, Medical University of South Carolina – Eugene E. West Memorial Fellowship Award (Synopsis)
  • Dimitrios Michelogiannakis, Eastman Institute for Oral Health, University of Rochester – Robert E. Gaylord Teaching Fellowship Award (Synopsis)


Research Aid Award (RAA)

  • Silvia Gianoni Capenakas, University of Alberta – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award (Synopsis)
  • Erika Babikow, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award (Synopsis)
  • Adam Hoxie, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award (Synopsis)
  • Emelia Karkazis, University of Illinois, Chicago – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award (Synopsis)
  • Erin Yoshida, University of Washington (Synopsis)
  • Youngjae Sung, University of Illinois, Chicago (Synopsis)
  • Sara Kahng, University of Illinois, Chicago (Synopsis)
  • Nathaly Lemoine, Texas A&M College of Dentistry (Synopsis)
  • Fatemah Husain, University at Buffalo (Synopsis)
  • Jia Lin Liu, University of Toronto (Synopsis)
  • Sheng Wang, The Ohio State University (Synopsis)
  • Ronald Lowe, University at Buffalo (Synopsis)

Craniofacial Growth Legacy Collection Project
- AAOF Continued Support

Education Innovation Award

The Dewel Award is given to the most meritorious Biomedical Research Award.

The AAOF Board of Directors Award is given at the discretion of the Board of Directors.

The Shepard Award designation is given annually to the most meritorious Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Award.

The Burstone-Indiana Award is given to the successful applicant of the award each year and designated as a Burstone Fellow in Biomechanics.

American Association Of Orthodontists Foundation

  • American Association Of Orthodontists Foundation - 401 N. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63141 Phone: (800) 424-2841 Fax: (800) 708-1364
Federal Tax ID 43-6056320

2023 © All Rights Reserved | Website Design By: IntradoLogin