About the AAOF Awards Program

The AAOF has defined seven Award Program priority areas:

  • Biomedical Research Awards
  • Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Awards
  • Center Awards
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship Award
  • Educational Innovation Awards
  • Program Awards
  • Research Aid Awards

The funds necessary for these awards are the result of the Foundation's endowment fundraising campaign, Continued Commitment to the Specialty®.

View the committee's policies regarding Confidentiality of Information and Conflicts of Interest HERE.

2023 Awards Program

The deadline for the 2023 Award Proposals is October 28, 2022 by 5:00 pm CST.
Application Materials for the annual AAOF Awards, as well as the Accelerated Funding of Proposals (AFP) and COVID-19 specific Awards are now available on the new online platform (click button below to apply).

The Call for Proposals on the three following topics can be submitted through the Accelerated Funding Program immediately rather than through the normal funding process. This on-going funding was made available to address urgent needs for research funding. The applications can be submitted any time under the Center Award, Biomedical Research Award, Postdoctoral Fellowship Award, Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Award, and Research Aid Award categories. Please note on your application, in the title of your proposal if you are applying through the Accelerated Funding Program.

Impending Issues in Orthodontics
Covid-19 Related Outcomes
Business of Orthodontic Practice

For guidance on completing the 2023 application process, please view the AAOF Awards Application Workshop PowerPoint presentation HERE or watch the live Virtual Workshop/Zoom Meeting, presented live on 6/18/21 HERE. Our 2022 Workshop is scheduled for June 24, 2022 from 11:00am-1pm CST. Watch for more information on attending.
All applications must be submitted through our online process.


2021 Awards Program

At the February 26 Board Meeting, the Board of Directors approved 16 Biomedical Research Awards, 9 Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Awards and 8 Research Aid Awards.

Biomedical Research Award

  • Carlos Flores-Mir, University of Alberta – B.F. Dewel Memorial Biomedical Research Award - Synopsis
  • Thikriat Al-Jewair, University of Buffalo - Synopsis 
  • Phimon Atsawasuwan, University of Illinois, Chicago - Synopsis
  • Carlos Flores-Mir, University of Alberta - Synopsis
  • Sylvia Frazier-Bowers and Laura Jacox, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – Robert L. Boyd Biomedical Research Award - Synopsis
  • Christine Hong, University of California, San Francisco – Robert James Bray Biomedical Research Award - Synopsis
  • Saran Huja, Medical University of South Carolina – Fred F. Schudy Memorial Research Award - Synopsis
  • F. Kurtis Kasper, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston - Synopsis
  • Negin Katebi, Harvard School of Dental Medicine - Synopsis
  • Chung How Kau, University of Alabama - Synopsis
  • Jae Hyun Park, Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health - Synopsis
  • Rishma Shah, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – Graber Family Biomedical Research and Teaching Award - Synopsis
  • Kyungsup Shin, University of Iowa – Burstone-Indiana Biomechanics Award - Synopsis
  • Karthikeyan Subramani, Roseman University - Synopsis
  • Shankar Rengasamy Venugopalan, University of Iowa – The Fred and Dianne Garrett Biomedical Research Award - Synopsis
  • Sumit Yadav, University of Connecticut - Synopsis

Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship

  • Soyhon Kim, Oregon Health & Science University – Willie and Earl Shepard Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Isil Aras, Jacksonville University – Michael Matlof Memorial Teaching Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Mohammed Elnagar, University of Illinois, Chicago – Albert P. Westfall Memorial Teaching Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Tarek ElShebiny, Case Western Reserve University – James A. McNamara Orthodontic Faculty Fellowship AwardSynopsis
  • Chenshuang Li, University of Pennsylvania – Orhan C. Tuncay Teaching Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Kathryn Preston, University of California, Los Angeles – Eugene E. West Memorial Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Flavio Sanchez, University of Illinois – Chicago – Robert E. Gaylord Teaching Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Meenakshi Vishwanath, University of Nebraska Medical Center – T.M. Graber Teaching Fellowship Award - Synopsis
  • Bingshuang Zou, University of British Columbia – Robert E. Binder Teaching Fellowship Award

Research Aid Award

  • Pheba Abraham, University of Illinois, Chicago – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award - Synopsis
  • Katelyn Cass & Allen Rapolla, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill - Synopsis
  • Kimberly Fluger, University of Buffalo - Synopsis
  • Karen Homsi, University of Illinois, Chicago – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award - Synopsis
  • Ryan Kearney, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill - Synopsis
  • Grace Lee, University of Pennsylvania – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award - Synopsis
  • Puttipong Sripinun, University of Pennsylvania - Synopsis
  • Ke Wang, University of Connecticut – Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award - Synopsis

Craniofacial Growth Legacy Collection Project
- AAOF Continued Support

Education Innovation Award

The Dewel Award is given to the most meritorious Biomedical Research Award.

The Shepard Award designation is given annually to the most meritorious Orthodontic Faculty Development Fellowship Award.

The Burstone-Indiana Award is given to the successful applicant of the award each year and designated as a Burstone Fellow in Biomechanics.

American Association Of Orthodontists Foundation

  • American Association Of Orthodontists Foundation - 401 N. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63141 Phone: (800) 424-2841 Fax: (800) 708-1364
Federal Tax ID 43-6056320

2022 © All Rights Reserved | Website Design By: IntradoLogin